The Jacquicourt Chapel

The Jacquicourt Chapel image1The Jacquicourt Chapel image2
1 / 2
4h15min
12.5km
+350m
-780m

Description

Admire the Jacquicourt Chapel, built in 1679 and reconstructed from 1986 to 1989, marking the end of centuries-old conflicts between Taninges, Verchaix, and Les Gets.
Explore the preserved beauty of the Plateau de Loëx (pronounced "loi"), a sensitive natural area classified as Natura 2000. You'll traverse landscapes with varied atmospheres, including coniferous forests, peat bogs, and pastures. Don't forget to bring a picnic and drinks to fully enjoy the experience. Take time to admire the Jacquicourt Chapel, built in 1679, marking the boundary between the three communes of Taninges, Verchaix, and Les Gets. Destroyed the same year due to disputes over alpine pasture boundaries, it was rebuilt identically between 1986 and 1989, ending six centuries of conflicts. The Loëx plateau forms a superb natural ensemble, both in terms of landscape and biology. The NATURA 2000 site covers an area of 1233 ha in 3 communes: Les Gets, Taninges and Verchaix. In order to preserve the site, the arrêté préfectoral de protection de biotope, issued in 1994, aims to protect the natural environments necessary for the feeding, reproduction, resting or survival of protected animal or plant species. To this end, access to the capercaillie enhanced protection zone is prohibited from January 1 to May 15 and during snowy periods.

Pricing

Free of charge.

Langues

French

Route GPX track

Address
89 Rte du Front de Neige, 74260, Les Gets
Opening
From 16/05 to 31/12.